Week 6

Greek life all across America has often gotten a bad rap from a few bad things that have happened. The media loves all of the coverage of the few bad things that happen with in the greek life community. The whole stereo type is that all the people within the greek life community are bad. Well from personal experience i can guarantee that this is absolutely not the case. There are many good people within the greek life community that are doing great things.

Image result for greek life

At NDSU there are many students that are involved with greek life. On campus there are 14 Fraternities and 4 Sororities. Unfortunately this is not something that is pushed by a lot of the NDSU staff and faculty. These opportunities are life changing for some people and it is really a shame that more faculty and staff don’t push for joining greek life. All of the chapters at NDSU do so much for the community with philanthropy and community service.

Image result for NDSU greek life

Coming into college I always knew that I wanted to be part of a fraternity, I just didn’t know which one. With this many chapters to choose from at NDSU alone it was a hard decision, but it was a very fun decision as well. During recruitment week we go to all of the different chapters events and see what they are about and who you would fit in the best with. During recruitment week I was able to find a group of guys that I fit in really well with and I decided to join them. The chapter is called Delta Tau Delta, and it is the second largest fraternity across the states.

Image result for delta tau delta

I can truly say that this is honestly one of the best decisions that i have ever made in my entire life to join this great group of guys. I have gotten to meet so many new people that will be my brothers for life and so many others within the greek community itself. I have been able to grow as a man, student and as a professional. There is many leadership positions that i have been able to take advantage of and develop my skills as a leader. I think that joining greek life should be highly considered by everyone, because has enhanced my college experience exponentially.

Image result for NDSU

This past week I was able to take a trip with my brothers to Muncie Indiana for our Northern Division conference where 40+ other Delta Tau Delta chapters come together and learn more on leadership and how to develop our own chapters. I was able to meet other brothers from Ohio University, Case Western Reserve University, and U of M in Minneapolis just to name a few. At the end of the conference we had a banquet to celebrate all of the accomplishments across the division. There were 20 awards given out at the banquet and our NDSU chapter won 7 different awards including our very first Hugh Shields which is given to the top ten chapters in the NATION. It is a great feeling being recognized nationally for all of our hard work that we do here at NDSU.

Image result for hugh shields award

Leave a comment